CBI Award for an Outstanding Contribution to Children’s Books in Ireland


CBI Award Winner Sarah Webb with CBI Director Elaina Ryan and Chair of CBI (and former Award Winner) Valerie Coghlan

The annual Children’s Books Ireland Award is presented to a person or organisation in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the world of children’s books. This very special award recognises individuals and organisations whose enthusiasm, passion and hard work over the years is inspiring to so many, and we are now asking our members to take the time to nominate a person or organisation who you think is deserving of similar recognition.

Last year’s award was given to writer Sarah Webb in recognition of her contribution as a bookseller, mentor, reviewer, teacher and programmer, among other things! Previous winners have included the late Robert Dunbar, Siobhán Parkinson, Jane O’Hanlon, Valerie Coghlan, Irene Barber, Michael O’Brien and Rosemary Hetherington.

We rely on the input of our members to nominate these champions – who do you think has really made a difference to children’s books and reading in Ireland? We want to hear from you.

Nominations close on Monday 5 September, and the award will be presented at the CBI Conference on Saturday 17 September at the Light House Cinema, Dublin.

Not a member yet? There’s still time to join! Click here to purchase your membership:


Then email your nomination along with the reason for your choice to info@childrensbooksireland.ie

We look forward to receiving your nominations and to announcing the recipient of this year’s award at the conference.