The Book of Revenge (Nine Lives Trilogy)

E. R. Murray’s thrilling trilogy for younger readers comes to a close in fitting and fantastic style as the heroine of the books, young Ebony Smart, must overcome dangers and horrors to defeat the enemies of the Order of the Nine Lives. Without revealing too many spoilers, suffice it to say that Ebony overcomes ghosts and dark magic, with Winston (her pet rat) never too far from her side. Murray’s world blends real-life Dublin with the fantasy world of the Order of Nine Lives, and her observations and depictions of both rural Ireland and the city are accurate and magical – which is a wonderful treat for readers who can identify with familiar places and locations, and imagine the magic hidden beneath.

Characters are strong and well-drawn and the story is well paced. This is perfect for fans of Harry Potter looking for a new series to read – with enough magic, mystery and time-travel to satisfy even the most ardent fantasy fiend.

Highly recommended.