Annual Children's Books Ireland Award

Each September, as part of the Children's Books Ireland International Conference, the presentation of the annual Children's Books Ireland award takes place. This award is made to an individual or organisation in recognition of an outstanding contribution to children's books. The recipient is nominated by the members of Children's Books Ireland in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the reading lives of children in Ireland.

Gabriel Rosenstock, poet, author and translator.

Read more

Carmel Hester, librarian at Kildare Libraries.

Read more

Dr. Marian Thérèse Keyes, Senior Executive Librarian at dlr LexIcon.

The presentation of the Annual Children's Books Ireland award did not take place due to COVID-19.

The Junior Certificate School Programme Demonstration Library Project, led by Kathleen Moran.

Eve Molony, a volunteer school librarian from Scoil Ailbhe in Thurles.

David O'Callaghan, Easons bookseller, children's and young adults book buyer and programmer of Deptcon.

Amanda Piesse, Senior Lecturer in English, Trinity College Dublin, co-established an MPhil in Children's Literature in TCD.

Sarah Webb, author, children's book event programmer and bookseller.

 Jane O'Hanlon, Education Officer with Poetry Ireland, teacher.

Siobhán Parkinson, author, inaugural Laureate na nÓg 2010-12, publisher with Little Island Books.

Colmán Ó Raghallaigh, publisher with Cló Mhaigh Eo, teacher.

Fighting Words, Creative writing centre for young people established by Roddy Doyle and Seán Love.

Irene Barber, primary school teacher, facilitator for children's book activities.

Rosemary Hetherington, librarian with Dublin City Libraries with special responsibility for children's books.

Celia Keenan, Lecturer in English at St Patrick's College, Drumcondra, established the first Masters degree in Children's Literature in Ireland.

Clodagh Corcoran, former children's books bookseller, founder member of The Irish Children's Books Trust.

Summer School Award for Services to Children's Literature


Publisher at The O'Brien Press, Dublin, founder member of iBbY Ireland and Children's Books Ireland.


Lecturer in English at the Church of Ireland College of Education, Dublin, a founder member of The Children's Literature Association and commentator on children's books.

Liz Morris, primary school teacher, editor and facilitator for children's book activities.

Valerie Coghlan, lecturer in children's literature, librarian, founder member of various children's literature organisations.

Robert Dunbar, Lecturer in English at the Church of Ireland College of Education, Dublin, a founder member of The Children's Literature Association of Ireland, and commentator on children's books.

Pat Donlon, former librarian of the National Library of Ireland, children's literature advocate and a founder member of the Children's Literature Association of Ireland.

Rena Dardis, Carolyn Swift and Tony Hickey: Publisher, authors and founders of one of the first publishing houses for children in Ireland, The Children's Press, Dublin.

Eilís Dillon, author, chair of the board of The Irish Children's Book Trust and chair of the Irish Children's Book Trust.

Mary Carroll, school librarian in Holy Faith School, Glasnevin, Dublin and activist with the Irish Association of School Librarians.