Publisher:

Andersen Press

Book Cover - Grown The Black Girls’ Guide to Glowing Up

Grown: The Black Girls’ Guide to Glowing Up

Authors Melissa Cummings-Quarry and Natalie A. Carter know that growing up as a girl is often difficult, but growing up as a Black girl can be much more challenging. Grown, their carefully curated and lovingly crafted guide, is an educational and fun book aimed at teaching young Black girls (and other girls of colour) how to navigate the different challenges they may face.

Book Cover- Know Your Rights and How To Claim Them

Know Your Rights and Claim Them: A Guide for Youth

In an increasingly complicated, fast-changing world, this book is an essential piece of kit for every bookshelf, and don’t let the ‘celebrity endorsement’ put you off! Angelina Jolie’s foreword underpins the seriousness of the subject matter, while coming across as practical, sincere, very positive, and really sets the tone for what’s to come over the ensuing pages. It explores why having formalised, ratified human rights codes are necessary, what’s protected under them, why young people (and adults!) should make sure they are followed, and why continued action to right wrongs is needed.

Book Cover - Are We There Yet?

Are We There Yet?

A young boy is off to Grandma’s birthday party. Soon, he asks the inevitable question, ‘Are we there, yet?’ Judging from his parents’ faces, this isn’t the first time he’s asked. Simple car journeys can take forever. Watching out the window and playing with toys can only occupy a child for so long, and the boy soon becomes bored. Then, his imagination takes over and he goes on a road trip of a different kind. He sees knights jousting, dinosaurs on the loose, pirates and Ancient Egyptians. It becomes a trip through the past and the future, with excitement and adventure round every bend.

Book Cover - Oliver’s Lollipop

Oliver’s Lollipop

Oliver and his family are heading to the zoo and because it is his birthday, Oliver gets a gigantic rainbow lollipop just before they go in. While his parents and little brother are enjoying the visit and the animals, Oliver is daydreaming about the delicious taste of his treat – after all, he thinks, the lollipop is the most dazzling thing in the whole zoo until … it is suddenly gone, before he could even take a lick.

Book Cover - Dreams for our Daughters

Dreams for our Daughters

The world is waiting just for you, ready for you to explore and find your place, in this mesmerising collaboration from Ruth Doyle and Ashling Lindsay. Dreams for Our Daughters calls on girls to become the leaders of the future, to aspire to anything they want and to find their place in a world that is waiting for them. With the empowerment of girls at its heart, it could so easily have fallen into the trap of being a book that you think you ‘should’ read rather than want to, but it is something else entirely.

Book Cover - The Bad Mood and the Stick

The Bad Mood and the Stick

Curley is a little girl who has been dogged by a bad mood for hours, since her mother passed an ice cream shop without buying her a cone. When Curley finds a stick, she pokes her brother with it, cheers up, and the bad mood transfers to her mum. Thus the bad mood, in the shape of a cloud, is passed from person to person in a manner reminiscent of DC Thomson’s 1970s cartoon strip A-Choo: The Story of a Sneeze Looking for Somewhere to Happen.

Book Cover - Maddy Yip’s Guide to Life

Maddy Yip’s Guide to Life

This new story from Sue Cheung is full of laugh-out-loud moments and is enhanced by beautiful illustrations by the author herself. Maddy Yip’s Guide to Life is perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Sam Wu. Maddy is happy with life until she realises that everyone she knows has a talent and so she goes in search of one of her own. There are disastrous attempts at discovering her talent such as breakdancing, revolting cakes and magic tricks that end up with missing pets.

Book Cover - The Lost Witch

The Lost Witch

This extraordinary book captivates from the get-go with a strange, heart-stopping opening chapter involving a car ride in torrential rain and a quad bike hunt for hares. One of these hares appears to speak, while another has only one eye, in which can be glimpsed ‘worlds upon worlds within worlds’. These eerie happenings presage Bea our 13-year-old protagonist’s awakening as a rare summoning witch in a world that seems hell-bent on the destruction and/or exploitation of her kind.

Book Cover - Belinda Brown

Belinda Brown

This is classic McKee – flat, two-dimensional, child-like artwork that conceals his genius. There is a rhyming text that avoids (narrowly) being contrived. As well as the rhyming, we have alliteration as in ‘Brother Bryan gobbled burgers, biscuits and bakes, bangers, buns, brioche and for breakfast? Bran flakes.’

Book Cover - The Station Mouse

The Station Mouse

Maurice the mouse is the latest recruit to the station house team. He is an enthusiastic, diligent little worker, and happy to follow all the strict rules of the station until the day he sees a little passenger in need of his services. He breaks the strict rules but there are consequences to his actions…